Tonight is…Patience Night

 

I wish I had the gift of natural patience.  I would love to be the person who never loses their temper over some little annoying set-back.  But I am not that person.  Not yet.  I am on a steep learning curve when it comes to being patient and accepting that some things only come to those who wait. 

Tonight I will HAVE to be patient.  Tonight is our technical run-through for our production of Disney’s Beauty and the Beast.  Tonight is not about me, it is not about the cast and not about the music.  Tonight is about giving the tech team time to play with the lights, the sound and the props and get them ready to support everyone else in a couple of days time.

But all this playing will take time.  No-one knows yet how long it will take but one thing is for sure – it won’t be quick.  There will be lots of sitting around and plenty of moments for my patience to be tested.  All the waiting will be worth it when the audience can not only see and hear us but see and hear us in style.  My waiting tonight will be for the good of someone else or even for my own benefit as the week continues.

Sitting & Waiting (Image by Ambro: http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/view_photog.php?photogid=1499)

It is all about keeping it in perspective and using the “waiting time” in the best way possible.  Perhaps I will make a few cups of tea.  Or go over my lines.  Or maybe just think about where I need to be on stage.  Or plan my costume changes.  Or just chat to my friends while we are waiting.  In a way these are distractions from the situation that my fuel my impatience but they are also things that I will enjoy.  There will be moments tonight that I can never regain or take back and live again so I am going to make the most of enjoying them.  Maybe tonight is the night when patience will return once more.

This entry was posted in Life is a Journey and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tonight is…Patience Night

  1. You know what happens when you ask for patience, right? You get plenty of opportunities to have it 😉

  2. pattisj says:

    May it be so. Enjoy the moments.

Leave a Reply

