Books for the Journey

Books (by healingdream)

I’ve already admitted that I am a book-worm.  You know by now that I have far too many unread books (mostly novels) lurking around in the corners of my house.  My shelves are also stacked with books that I have read at least once (sometimes several times – “Jane Eyre” by Charlotte Bronte springs immediately to mind), but that I know I will open again one day and bask in the greatness of their words.  There is sometimes nothing more to this than falling in love with the characters or the beauty of the writing itself.  Then sometimes it is because a particular book came along at a specific point in my life and spoke right to the centre of my heart, of my soul, of my journey.

I’m sharing many of my thoughts along the journey with you so it feels right that I should share with you some of the books that have made a difference to my journey.  Maybe they will have the same impact on you.  Maybe you will dismiss them because you are in a different place on your journey.  Or maybe you just can’t or don’t want to read.  If it is the latter let me encourage you to take a step to reading more – there is nothing quite like fully immersing yourself in the world created in a novel.

My hope is that from one of the posts in my “Books for the Journey” category you might find one book that touches your heart or challenges you in some way along your own journey through life.  If it does, I would love to know about it so please post your thoughts up here.  And do add suggestions of books that have encouraged you in return.

Must go – the books are calling me.

(Image of “Books” by healing dream – http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/view_photog.php?photogid=989 )

This entry was posted in Books for the Journey and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Books for the Journey

  1. actaggart says:

    I love book reviews. I look forward to reading yours! I’m very happy to be re-reading Jane Eyre this week for one of my classes. Anyways, thanks for your post!

    • loustar02 says:

      Thanks for your comments. Jane Eyre is still one of my all time favourite of favourites – I’ve lost count now of how many times I’ve read it. I think some of that is because it was one of the first classic novels I ever read and was a copy given to me from my Great-Aunt via my Mum so meant even more. Whereabouts are you up to?

  2. pattisj says:

    Sounds good to me!

  3. Pingback: The Gift (by Cecelia Ahern) | hugmore

  4. As a child, I loved reading so much that I used to “crack” my bedroom door and read by the hallway light. Sadly, I’ve gotten away from reading as much although I love it. Thanks for sparking me to read more. I will be picking up a copy of the gift shortly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

