“Joseph” – the kick off

Whether through foolishness or just madness, I have agreed to direct our next production of the musical “Joseph”.  It is our 10th anniversary production following the “naming” of the group and a big deal to the people who have been involved since the inaugural production.

It is also quite a big thing for me.  Down the years I have performed in various versions of the show in many locations (some slightly more prestigious than others….as those of you in the “know” will appreciate) and the show is one that is very close to my heart.  I just love all those “la la laaahs” and “oo-ee-oo’s”!

I’ve just started my preparation.  Ok, that sounds really exciting but all I’ve really done is write down all the rehearsal dates in a pretty table.  It was a rather frightening experience.  I have discovered that we only have 25 rehearsals before the afternoon workshop/dress rehearsal day to learn everything from scratch and get up to performance standard.  I’m not sure it was a completely good idea.  But, best to get it out there early on.  Who knows, we might even find that we are not left rehearsing “One More Angel in Heaven” the day before the show!

This entry was posted in "Joseph" - a director's blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Joseph” – the kick off

  1. pattisj says:

    Wishing you success in your new endeavor.

Leave a Reply

