Standing Still: The Journey Home

"Future" (by graur razvan ionut)

This morning was one of those miserable affairs when I was already running late for work (thank you rain and, therefore, wet dog walk).  Of course, having made it into my car and onto the main road, I got stuck in ridiculously long queues of traffic.  All the way to the office.  For the record I am not proud of how frustrated I was by the whole situation.  Thankfully my beloved iPod (how would I ever get through an entire day without you faithfully staying by my side) shuffled its way merrily onto a tune that has never failed to lift my heart and make me smile no matter what situation I am in.

Before I disclose the song, I feel duty-bound to warn you that I am a lover of musicals.  I am not unduly fussy about them.  I love the big and glitzy ones, the hard-hitting ones, the modern operas, the tear-jerkers, the comedies and the ones that are best performed in provincial studio theatre spaces.  My only requirement is that the music connects with me emotionally in some way.  More on that another time.

Anyway, the reason for warning you of my almost obsessive love of musical theatre is that this song is from a musical.  Perhaps no surprise that it moves me then but what is an achievement is that it consistently provokes the same response. 

With many shows I fall in love with the soundtrack and play it repeatedly for weeks until I am totally sick of hearing it and cannot listen to it again for months.  This often happens with a show I have been rehearsing for perhaps rather obvious reasons.  It also happened with the original cast recording of the show in which my song of the day features.  I had loved it almost too much.  It seems that the old adage: “familiarity brings contempt”, applies equally to music as people.

I am well aware that many critics and member of the public alike completely failed to connect with this show and it was panned by many.  It was slated by many more for being too “Western” and for toning down its native musical vibes for the classic West End audience.  I applaud them all for their strong views and continue to completely disregard their comments.  I still like this show and was thrilled to have been able to see it while it was still on at the Apollo Victoria.

This one song seems to have been exempt from my usual “over-playing-itis” (who knows what the critics of the show would think but I’m not really that bothered and trust that you can make up your own mind).  The music is beautiful in its simplicity and the lyrics are a perfect match.  They remind me to stop in the midst of all my busyness and focus on what is too important to be missed.

“Not every road you come across
Is one you have to take
No, sometimes standing still can be
The best move you ever make”

There is always a choice.  No matter how hard it might be you always get to choose your response to a situation or how you get beyond it.  It might be the same as someone else or it might be different but what is important is that you take the right path for you at the right time.  Don’t rush an important decision but don’t sit on the fence forever.

I’ll think my wishes through before I wish again”

Give yourself the gift of rest and choose your path wisely.

The Journey Home

The journey home
Is never too long
Your heart arrives before the train.
The journey home
Is never too long
Some yesterdays always remain.
I’m going back to where my heart was light
When my pillow was a ship I sailed through the night.

The journey home
Is never too long
When open arms are waiting there.
The journey home
Is never too long
There’s room to love and room to spare.
I want to feel the way that I did then
I’ll think my wishes through before I wish again.

Not every road you come across
Is one you have to take.
No, sometimes standing still can be
The best move you ever make.

The journey home
Is never too long
One helps to heal the deepest pain.
The journey home
Is never too long
Your heart arrives before the train.

(“The Journey Home” from Bombay Dreams, lyrics by Don Black)

[Image of “Future” by graur razvan ionut http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/view_photog.php?photogid=987″>Image:  ]

This entry was posted in Life is a Journey and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Standing Still: The Journey Home

  1. 1smiles says:

    Very welcoming and timely post for me.
    “Take the right path for you at the right time.”
    Love it!

  2. I completely agree with you.
    There is always a choice.
    We can always choose our reaction to any event or situation.
    Thanks for writing such an inspiring post!!

  3. Maxi says:

    Thought provoking post. When we make a choice, lest not forget we have to live with the consequences.

    Blessings – Maxi

Leave a Reply

