The Benefits of a Prawn Sandwich

Peeled Prawn (by Master Isolated Images)

I’ve never understood my delight in eating the little hook-shaped seafood known as a prawn.  In particular my focus is on the North Atlantic variety not their more superior tiger prawn friends.  They are not at all attractive to look at once peeled.  In fact the only appropriate description is that they are both pale and puny.  The texture is another oddity.  Quite unlike any other shellfish they are soft, but not squidgy, and have a taste that can only be equated to average.  I suppose that could be considered a step up from a whelk which is both chewy and tasteless (in my opinion, with apologies to whelk farmers).

However, when these puny little shellfish, looking more like little fingers than edible food sources, are covered in mayonnaise (full fat, if you please) and squashed between two slices of bread something magical seems to happen.  They are transformed into something other-worldly.  The fact is that I delight in a swiftly consumed prawn sandwich.  The combination of textures and flavours in something so simple and easy to eat is a wonder, albeit one that lasts no time at all.  Perhaps that is really the crux of the matter.  Simple and quick.

I am sure that if I had plenty of time on my hands I could come up with a lovely, long list of all the wonderful benefits of eating this rather wonderful produce of the sea.  I could probably also list all the environmental reasons as to why I should no longer be eating the rather humble North Atlantic prawn.  But the truth is that I don’t have the time or the inclination today. 

It has struck me that I am writing this instead of rushing out to buy myself said sandwich.  This is a rather unfortunate state of affairs and one I am planning to remedy immediately.  I just hope the shop hasn’t sold out yet or I may have to resort to a cheese salad sandwich.

(Photo from: http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/view_photog.php?photogid=1962 )

 

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Benefits of a Prawn Sandwich

  1. 1smiles says:

    I have to admit, I’m not a seafood person. I was married to a cattle farmer. That about says it all. But I had to comment on the word Squidgy. I love it. And yes, to me it describes oh so much.
    Hope you enjoyed your sandwich.

    • loustar02 says:

      I’m really an everything person as long as it can be eaten. Don’t worry – I’m a big fan of a nice juicy steak too 😉 I did enjoy the sandwich. I was quite worried that I wouldn’t be able to get one…but there it was waiting for me!

  2. pattisj says:

    Seafood isn’t one of my favorites, either. You can have your prawn sandwich, and I’ll take the cheese salad one! That sounds yummy! Do you have a recipe for it? Or do you buy it already made?

    • loustar02 says:

      Ok, that’s a deal. The prawn sandwich I tend to buy ready-made. Cheese salad is best in one of the deliciously crunchy fresh rolls from our local bakery with a layer of salad cream, lettuce, tomato and cucumber, topped with a nice slab of Cheddar cheese. Delicious whether the contents are home or shop prepared!

  3. cmeanor says:

    I never had a prawn sandwich, I think I am going to have to try it out. Anything else you advise putting on it besides mayo? What kind of bread to you like?

Leave a Reply

