Time to Choose

Man with His Best Friend on the Beach (by Cecelia)

I am sure I am not alone in saying that last week was busy.  Busy is one of those lovely words we seem to enjoy throwing into conversation because it makes us sound like we’ve got it sorted.  The busy people get on with living abundantly whilst those on the sidelines watch enviously as the whirling dervishes fly past.  Or so the whirling dervish might believe.

Everything today is about pace and speed.  No need to queue for a real person to serve you in a shop now when you can use a “self-service” checkout that gets you out of there in half the time.  Work-places stay open all hours and expect to be able to reach you on the iPhone/Blackberry/etc any time of the day or night.  Family and friends use Facebook, texting, email and calls to mobiles in the expectation of immediate responses.  Long calls must be booked in advance to save wasting time on answer machines.  Letter writing is all but defunct – why waste time sending letters and waiting on replies when an instant connection is available?

In a bid to maintain some sense of work/life balance we try to become Superheroes by taking on too many projects or commitments outside of work.  Our super-efficient lifestyles scream out: “Look at my fantastically full life!”  Is it a full life that you really want though or do you want to be living your life to the full? 

I took a day off work on Monday – the first time for ages I had time to do whatever I pleased.  There were lots of things I could have done.  All were worthy options.  I realised I had a choice to make.  I could fill up every single minute or I could let the day unfold.  It wasn’t easy.  I am a “doer”, a Martha not a Mary.  Listing more tasks than I can achieve before chasing minutes to complete them is what I do.  But choose I did.

I read a book recommended for extremely light brain-work (yes, it was classic chick-lit, I am not ashamed).  I spent a wonderful couple of hours having lunch in a lovely country restaurant with my Grandma – time I will never regret spending with her.  I walked my crazy little dog twice in the open fields and laughed at her antics in a way I never do when I’m squeezing the walks into an intense schedule.  I did a couple of small household jobs that took very little time but made me feel so much better.  I curled up on the kitchen work-top to read a magazine.  I even had time to do some prep for “Joseph” (ruthlessly restricting myself to one musical number) before finishing off with a relaxing evening eating some of my many favourite foods (sorry, no prawn sandwiches in sight).  

I’d lived one day creating wonderful memories.  My schedule might not have been full but it gave me time to enjoy the spaces along the way.  I became a little bit more myself. 

The journey of life may be short or long but I want to live mine to the full while I’m here.  What about you?

[Photograph by Cecelia – http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/view_photog.php?photogid=200 ]

This entry was posted in Life is a Journey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Time to Choose

  1. pattisj says:

    I need to take a lesson from this. 🙂 I don’t schedule every minute like I used to (and some of the next day’s). But I’m still not making enough time for the fun stuff. I’m sure your Grandma was pleased to spend the time with you.

    • loustar02 says:

      It is very hard to try and keep flexibility when commitments shout at you from every side but times like Monday remind me why it is so vital to attempt it. Good luck keeping up the work and making more fun time!

  2. 1smiles says:

    I’m glad you chose to take the day for yourself. You filled yourself back up. Much needed.

  3. dogear6 says:

    I loved your post! So very thoughtful and encouraging.

    I started doing this a long time ago. I work in an environment that is fast paced and stressful. It’s always go go go. People don’t talk in the elevators – they’re too busy on their cell phones.

    I’ve stepped back from that. I did that years ago to balance work and family. I continue to do it now to have a life.

    So few people do this. I wish more did. They’d enjoy their lives so much more.

    Nancy

    P.S. Thanks for coming over to my blog. I enjoy seeing your “likes” and comments.

    • loustar02 says:

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment, Nancy. I’m really impressed that you’ve stepped out of the “norm” to get your life back. It is often so difficult, especially in fast paced environments where expectations are so high and, often, unrealistic. I completely agree – taking time back to live is so important.

      Keep giving us inspiration too!

Leave a Reply

