Home (A Friday Fictioneers post)

A big thank you to Madison Woods for her great efforts on sourcing photo prompts for our weekly challenges.  The photo for this week is below…enjoy!

Spring pool

Home

She ran breathlessly to the water’s edge, laughter bubbling happily from her throat.  Soft grass rustled gently as her bare legs brushed by.  She had never felt so free or so perfectly herself.  What had she been doing all these years?  All that time she had wasted longing to become someone special when all along this moment was waiting for her. 

She slowed suddenly to a walk as she spotted the dark-haired man sat calmly on a wooden boat in the middle of the sparkling lake.  Shyly, she stopped as she studied him.  Had he been there before?  She couldn’t be sure.  Either way he looked familiar.  Why did she recognise him?

“Will you come?” He asked, his voice rippling across the lake.

She smiled.  She was home.

 

[Photograph writing prompt taken from the very wonderful:  http://madisonwoods.wordpress.com/2012/02/15/photo-prompt-for-100-word-flash-fridayfictioneers-18/]

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Home (A Friday Fictioneers post)

  1. Beautiful and enigmatic writng. My mind did gymnastics trying to sort out who the man was, what he meant. I thought maybe he was death, or some kind of guide. Did I miss something important! Very nice writng.
    Here’s mine: bridgesareforburning.wordpress.com/

  2. teschoenborn says:

    Who was the man in the lake, someone from her past, a destiny invisioned in her dreams? Intriguing.
    Here’s mine: http://teschoenborn.com?

  3. Siobhan Muir says:

    I really liked the first and second paragraphs, but the ending didn’t seem to go with them. She questions why he looks so familiar, but his words should have caused more confusion than happy acceptance to be believable for me. Loved your descriptions, though. 🙂

  4. TheOthers1 says:

    This was gorgeous. Great feelings from this one.

  5. Janet says:

    Loved the descriptions in the first paragraph. Very mysterious. Here’s mine: https://hugmore.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/home-a-friday-fictioneers-post/

  6. The Lime says:

    Oh I like this piece a lot. There’s such a sense of expectation and then satisfaction, balanced precisely at the end. Great work!

    Mine’s here: http://thecolorlime.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/imaginary-friend/

  7. Quill Shiv says:

    I kept thinking Charon. But I really don’t know. Any way, this is a very interesting piece to me. And I wish I knew more about it. Great work.

    The link to my drabble is: http://quillshiv.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/reading-tree-leaves/

  8. This story was stellar. I thought you told it perfectly. Dawning realization explains all. I saw him as Charon as well. Did she bring some coins for the boatman?

    Aloha,

    Doug

    http://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/ask-ulysses/

  9. Maxi says:

    Recently I lost my beloved husband of 35yrs.; this writing gives me a sense of how David felt as he approached Our Father and the peace of the hereafter.

    Blessings – Maxi

  10. elmowrites says:

    You create such a lot of intrigue in this tiny piece, about the character we’re following and the life she’s led. I guess a lot of us can sympathise over waiting too long for our fate!

  11. Lora Mitchell says:

    I know this is crazy but your story gave me goosebumps. The beginning of your piece reminded me of Whitney Houston doing cartwheels in the hotel lobby, then a few hours later, as in your 2nd part, she is called home.
    Here’s mine: http://www.triplemoonstar.blogspot.com

  12. Madison Woods says:

    My guess was that she only began to live after she’d died. I enjoyed the imagery in this story and it felt happy and joyful, but as a reader I felt sad that it took that point for her to realize her true self. (This is a personal fear of mine that I’m likely projecting onto your story…)

  13. Judee says:

    Oh my goodness, this is so beautiful! For me, the meaning is clear, and depicted in such a sweet sublime fashion. Anyone who has lost a loved one would take heart from this.

  14. niiko47 says:

    Echoing the comments of others, this is a beautiful story with a very spiritual slant. Or at least it seems that way to me!
    Very nicely written.

Leave a Reply

