New Year, New Appreciation for Success

("2013 with fireworks by Stuart Miles")

(“2013 with fireworks by Stuart Miles”)

It is the New Year.  2013 is here.  One moment I was in 2012 raising a glass of champagne to my other half and the next we were being propelled into 2013.  Ok, it wasn’t exactly a surprise.  The whole evening’s entertainment had been building up to that annual spectacular non-event.

I’m not really a New Year cynic.  I love the feeling of starting anew and of planning ahead for all the exciting projects I’d like to undertake in the months ahead.  I don’t make resolutions as such – too wishy-washy for me.  I like goals.  Clear things to aim for.  What I’m never very good at though is looking back and appreciating all the goals that I’ve completed.  All the times I’ve managed to get the ball in the back of the net.  Or the times when I have tried and failed – but at least I tried. 

This year has been a first.  I sat down with a blank of sheet of paper and started to list all the things I’d finally made time to do and the goals I’d inadvertently completed.  The trickle of thoughts turned into a gushing river as I realised, with a rather astounding joy, that I’d had a pretty good year.  True, there were plenty of negative moments in there and illnesses I could have done much better without, but overall 2012 had been a successful one.  That in itself was a surprise.  I’d thought it had been a disaster of a year and had, until that moment, been extremely glad to see the back of it.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.  It was my focus that had been off with the fairies.  Instead of focussing on the good stuff I had picked on all the negative things and allowed them to cloud the moments of joy.  How very typically human of me! 

The list included all manner of successes like directing Joseph, spending more time with family and friends (something I’d always intended to do but had always let busyness take their place), losing weight, reading forty-seven books, visiting Italy, finally giving in and getting my own career coach, watching more films, running and exercising regularly (gone a little by the wayside now due to illness but enough on my radar for me to actually want to get back into it again as soon as I am fully recovered) and achieving a lifetime “bucket list” ambition of riding a horse along a beach.  That one I am particularly proud of.

What will 2013 bring?  I don’t know but I’m working out a plan for some goals and space for lots of spontaneity.  Hopefully there will be some nice surprises in there.  Whatever happens I hope I retain the lesson of 2012: there is lots of good stuff even in the midst of the bad, you just have to look for it.

(Image courtesy of Stuart Miles/FreeDigitalPhotos.net)

This entry was posted in Being Me, Life is a Journey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Year, New Appreciation for Success

  1. Maxi says:

    You said it all in “…how typically human of me.”

    “Live in the moment” works for me. Life is not measured in weeks, months or years … it is in every single breath.
    Blessings ~ Maxi

  2. pattisj says:

    Funny how the negative tries to overshadow the positive. It’s always good to write these things on the tablets of our hearts so they are not forgotten.

Leave a Reply

