Living out my own advice

Isn’t it true that it is often easier to give advice than take it on board yourself? How sad it is that in doing so we often miss out on the opportunity of living more fully.

So today I took my own advice and spent a nice portion of it taking time to have a meal with my wonderful Mum and Grandma, and helping them both out with the shopping. True, I had to get my shopping anyway, so it helped me, but, more importantly, it was so much more fun than going solo.

I will never get those hours back but it doesn’t matter. If I had to live them again I would do just the same. Time is a gift, I once wrote. Today I made the right decision in giving the most precious gift I could to two of the most precious people in my life. I hope I’m brave enough to remember this lesson again tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Being Me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Living out my own advice

  1. Maxi says:

    The precious gift of time. It is the one thing our loved ones need most from us.
    Blessings ~ Maxi

  2. SuzieSue says:

    Time with people you love is never wasted. I’m sure you will look back on this in due course and realise it was also a precious gift to yourself 🙂

  3. pattisj says:

    Wise to spend the time you can with those you love. When I got married and moved away, I saw my mom once a year, and not for nearly as long as I would have liked.

Leave a Reply

