Share Your World 2013 – Week 4

And now for something slightly different.  Cee’s challenge this week is to list four things from your bucket list.  Now, if you haven’t heard of a bucket list (where have you been?) it is a list of things you want to do, places you want to go, things you want to achieve before you die (check out the film for some inspiration – but have a tissue to hand).

For this exercise I can assume that money is no object (ah, now that would be nice)…so, here goes….

(1) Do a tour of India – it is one place in the world I’ve always wanted to go and explore to see the contrasts, the colours, the excitement of the food, the splendour and the terrible poverty but the worry about “Delhi belly” has always put me off.  Every time I see another film about it I become even more desperate to get there and experience it for myself (Eat Pray Love, The Best Exotic Marigold, Slumdog Millionaire amongst others).  It would have to be a nice long trip – a couple of months or something, not just the classic package tour of 14 nights flying through every cultural highlight with no time to stay longer if you’d like to.  A local guide is a must – best way to learn about the people (although perhaps sometimes take the local view with a pinch of the proverbial salt!)  Yes, India is definitely on the list, and surprisingly at the top – perhaps in the next couple of years I’ll be able to make real plans to go at last.

(2) Live in a beautiful cottage on the outskirts of both town and countryside where I can own several dogs, a couple of pigs and a couple of goats.  Pigs are so intelligent and such wonderfully fun animals that I have always loved the idea of keeping a couple – probably more as pets than as food it has to be said.  I love dogs, enough said.  And I would love to be able to make my own goats’ cheese and drink goats’ milk.  It would be a very cute cottage with a lovely mature garden and plenty of space for the animals but not so far that I couldn’t pop back to the seaside or the shops without hours of journeying.  If you find a spot like that, please let me know.  And a nice bright, airy conservatory with perfect temperature control and comfy furniture and gorgeous bright colours.  Now, I can sort comfy furniture and even the colours if I can work on persuading my other half that bright, bold colours are in fact very good for the soul.

(3) Tour Japan – I love the food and am intrigued by the local culture and the fascinating history of this now super-modern country.  I have heard many wonderful stories from friends who have made the trip and one day I hope I’ll have the time to go at the perfect time of year: when the cherry blossoms bloom.

(4) Walk from Land’s End to John O’Groats – well, actually I think I’d like to do it the other way around so I can relax in Cornwall at the end of it and stuff my face with pasties, cream teas and fresh fish!  I’ve always loved walking and have been inspired by my Dad who used to do lots of the big hikes across the British Isles.  It has always been a dream that is just a bit too big.  It would take too long to be able to do it whilst still employed so I need to remain somewhere long enough to take a career break, and sort out my dodgy hip (yes, even at my age!) but I dream of being able to complete this challenge.  I’ve only just reminded myself about it – so it seems this has been a very helpful exercise for me!

What’s on your bucket list?  Dream BIG!

http://www.ceephotography.com/2013/01/21/share-your-world-2013-week-4/

This entry was posted in Share Your World 2013 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Share Your World 2013 – Week 4

  1. jelillie says:

    Hey I’ve also always wanted goats although I understand they are a nuisance. 🙂 The walking trip through England sounds like a lot of fun. Maybe I will add it to my list.

    • loustar02 says:

      Hmm, I’ve heard that too about goats but for this purpose I thought I would ignore it!

      Why not. Let me know if you decide to do it.

  2. Maxi says:

    Money no object? Sign me up for India.
    Blessings ~ Maxi

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    Your dreams are beautiful!!! May they all come true soon.

  4. pattisj says:

    I really like the setting of #2. When you find that place, I must know where it is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

